Home / Blog / Instagram Tips / How to Delete a Picture From Instagram

How to Delete a Picture From Instagram

Published April 23, 2024

Our Instagram profiles are like digital scrapbooks, showcasing our best moments and memories. You can post pictures and videos from trips with friends and family, concerts and parties, and even random photos. These pictures all seem great when we upload them.

However, as time passes, some photos might lose appeal or no longer align with your current aesthetic. Your account may have grown from a personal one to one that showcases your business, and some photos you’ve previously posted may not align with that brand image.

You may decide to delete these pictures from your account. Here, we’ll show you some methods of doing that to curate a feed that reflects your evolving style.

Deleting Photos From Your Instagram Profile

Deleting photos from your Instagram is a big decision. However, when you’ve settled on that option, there are two ways to go about it. You could delete a single photo, or you could delete a group of photos all at once. We’ll walk you through both methods.

How to Delete a Single Picture From Your Instagram Feed

Here’s how to permanently delete a photo from your Instagram feed:

  1. Navigate to Your Profile: Open the Instagram app and tap on your profile picture at the bottom right corner to access your profile page.
  2. Locate the Photo You Want to Delete: Scroll through your photo grid and find the picture you want to remove. Tap in it to view it fully.
  3. Access the Options Menu: Tap the three-dot icon at the post’s top right corner.
  4. Select “Delete”: A small menu will appear. From this menu, choose the “Delete” option.
  5. Confirm Deletion: Instagram will prompt you to confirm your decision. Tap “Delete” again to permanently remove the photo.

How to Delete Multiple Pictures From Your Instagram Account at Once

The previous method may not be practical if you have a lot of pictures to delete. Here’s a better method for that:

  1. Navigate to Your Profile: Open your Instagram app and tap on the profile photo at the bottom right of the screen to get to your profile.
  2. Get to Settings and Activity: Tap the hamburger menu icon at the top right of your profile to open the “Settings and Activity” menu.
  3. Navigate to Your Posts in Your Activity: Get to your “Your Activity” on the menu and tap on it. Then, tap “Posts” in the “Content You Shared” section.
  4. Select Posts to Delete: Long-press on the first post to enter the selection mode, then tap on all the other posts you wish to delete.
  5. Delete Your Posts: When you’re done selecting, tap on the big, red “Delete” button at the bottom right of the screen. Confirm your decision by tapping “Delete” again, and Instagram will remove those posts.

Conclusion

While deleting seems final, you can retrieve these posts if you change your mind after the fact. Simply navigate to the “Recently Deleted” tab in the “Your Activity” menu within thirty days to restore all the posts.

Deleting photos allows you to curate your Instagram profile and present a feed that reflects your current style and interests, so go ahead without fear.

Grow your Instagram
with Buzzoid

Learn more
Written By:
AUTHOR & EDITOR-IN-CHIEF
Jessica is a writer who specializes in social media, marketing, and digital strategy. She is a graduate of Antioch College and earned her MBA at Boston College’s Carroll Graduate School of Management, specializing in STEM Management. Her work has been published in numerous academic journals and mainstream publications. She lives in New England with her husband, two children, and three dogs.
You may also like:

Want to grow your Instagram faster?