Home / Blog / Instagram Tips / A Comprehensive Guide on How to Delete Instagram Messages

A Comprehensive Guide on How to Delete Instagram Messages

Published January 30, 2024

Did you ever send an Instagram message you just want to get rid of? We’re sure you have, which is why we have put together this comprehensive guide that will walk you through how to delete Instagram messages, whether it’s on a smartphone or desktop.

The good news is that it’s easy to delete IG messages. So, whatever your reasons for wanting to get rid of certain messages, we’ve got you covered.

How to Delete Instagram Messages on a Phone

If you’re like most people, you are using Instagram on your phone. Here’s how you delete messages on both iPhone and Android.

Delete Individual Messages on Android

  • Open the Instagram app
  • Tap the inbox icon in the top-right of your feed page to enter your DMs
  • Locate the conversation containing the messages you want to delete
  • Top and hold the message you sent that you want to delete
  • Tap the Unsend option to trash the message
  • Tap OK

Delete Entire Conversations on Android

  • Open the Instagram app
  • Go to your DMs inbox
  • Tap and hold the the conversation you are looking to trash
  • After a message appears, select Delete
  • Tap Delete to confirm

How to Delete Instagram Messages on iPhone

  • Open the Instagram app
  • Tap on the DM icon in the top-right of your feed page
  • Find the conversation with the messages you want to delete and open it
  • Tap and hold the message you wrote that you want to remove
  • Tap the Unsend option

How to Delete Instagram Messages on a Computer

You may want to access Instagram on your computer as well. If you want to know how to delete a message on Instagram using a desktop, here is what you have to do:

  1. Head to Instagram’s website and log into your account
  2. Click on the DM icon in the top-right of your feed page
  3. Locate and select the conversation containing the messages you want to delete
  4. Once you have found the message, click on the three dots
  5. Click on the Unsend option
  6. Confirm by clicking on Unsend once more

Important Information on Deleting Instagram Messages

Now that you know how to delete Instagram DMs, there are a few limitations to know about.

  • You can only truly Unsend a message if the recipient has not seen it. If they have seen it, then even if you have used the Unsend feature, the recipient will still be able to see it on their end.
  • When you delete an entire conversation, you are only removing it from your end, not the recipient’s side. The person you had a conversation with will still have a copy of the messages the two of you exchanged.
  • You can only Unsend and delete messages you sent. You will be unable to remove any messages anyone else has sent to you.

Deleting a message may not be the best solution for you. In certain cases, reporting or blocking the sender is the preferable option.

Grow your Instagram
with Buzzoid

Learn more
Written By:
AUTHOR & EDITOR-IN-CHIEF
Jessica is a writer who specializes in social media, marketing, and digital strategy. She is a graduate of Antioch College and earned her MBA at Boston College’s Carroll Graduate School of Management, specializing in STEM Management. Her work has been published in numerous academic journals and mainstream publications. She lives in New England with her husband, two children, and three dogs.
You may also like:

Want to grow your Instagram faster?