It’s completely normal that you sometimes wish to take a screenshot of a nice photo or useful piece of information other Instagram users post. Seeing what other people are posting on their Instagram pages, especially someone you admire, can help you stay up-to-date on the latest trends and improve your own profile. But can other people tell when you take a screenshot of their posts? Also, will Instagram notify you if others are doing the same with your content?
Read on to find out!
Does Instagram Report When You Screenshot a Post?
As of 2021, Instagram does not alert users when someone screenshots their posts. However, it will notify them whenever anyone screenshots a disappearing message, video, or photo sent in a DM.
In other words, if someone snaps a photo of your picture, video, or private message, you will never know. However, if you send someone a disappearing message and they take a screenshot of it, Instagram will alert you.
So, what does this mean for you? Well, it means that your content can be shared or used without your permission — even if sent in vanishing mode. Hence, it’s always a good idea to include a disclaimer or watermark on any content you share on Instagram, especially if it’s temporary or exclusive. Or even better strategy would be to avoid sharing private or sensitive information altogether.
Additionally, you can use Instagram’s disappearing messages feature to share temporary content with select followers. This way, even if someone wants to take screenshots of your content, it will only be available for a limited time, reducing the chances of it being shared or used without your permission.
And the same goes for other users. Therefore, you can freely screenshot the useful bits of their content — the owners will remain blissfully unaware.