Are you wondering why you suddenly can’t find your friend’s Instagram page? Are you unable to see their posts or send them direct messages? If so, they may have blocked or restricted you on Instagram.
It can be annoying and confusing to be blocked on social media but don’t worry — you’re not alone. In this blog post, we will reveal the top signs that someone has blocked you on Instagram and give you the tools you need to confirm your suspicions.
First off, the app won’t alert you when this happens. So, it’s up to you to get to the bottom of your Instagram block mystery. Here are some signs to clue you in.
Search for the Account in the App
Simply tap the Search icon at the bottom of the app screen and type in the account name. If the profile is private and you can’t find it, you may have been blocked.
On the other hand, if it’s a public profile and you can’t see any info on it — you have undoubtedly been blocked. For instance, if you can’t see a profile image, follower count, or post count, and instead, there’s a message “No Posts Yet,” it means the person has deemed your online presence undesirable.
Search Using a Browser
Log out. Then, enter the URL Instagram.com/username into a browser on your computer. Of course, you need to replace the term “username” with the Instagram handle in question. If you are able to see the account this way but not when you are logged in, it means that you’ve been blocked. However, if you get “Sorry, this page isn’t available,” a person has deleted their Instagram profile.
Check Their Instagram Activity
Are you seeing the person’s likes and comments on other people’s posts but tapping their username leads to a blank profile page? That means they haven’t actually deleted their account but probably blocked you.
Use a Different Account
You can also use a friend’s account to look for the person who blocked you. Or you can open another Instagram account to confirm that you have been blocked. If you can see their profile and view images by looking them up from a different account, there will be no room left for doubt.
That said, keep in mind that the platform gives its users a choice to block your current account as well as any other you might create in the future.
Check Your Messages
Instagram will hide any conversation threads you previously had with the person who has blocked you. Therefore, you’re safe if you can still see your chat. You can also look at the group chats both of you took part in. If they are still visible to you in the group but not elsewhere, it means they blocked you.